Uncategorized

10 Albums that Made a Lasting Impression.

I do not usually participate in Facebook’s chain statuses; however, I can’t let this one go a miss. Here’s 10 albums that made a lasting impression on me as a teenager – with a little explanation, just for the fun of it:

1. The Wanted – The Wanted

C’mon, every teenage girl needs a boyband to obsess over. It’s not a stereotype anymore, it’s pretty much a literal stage of cognitive development. The Wanted had me singing to this album on loop, as if I’ve had my heart broken at the age of 13… how do they do it?

2. McFly – Radio:ACTIVE

This band introduced me to the sense of community that comes alongside being a fan of music. McFly alike led me to discover my love for heavier bands; and I guess this album’s to thank for dragging me out of listening solely to pop music. 

3. Green Day – American Idiot

What an album? I can still have this beauty on loop, and live through every word sang by Billie. It’s art, and should forever go down in history as one of the greatest albums. 

4. My Chemical Romance – Welcome To The Black Parade 

I will always have a weak spot for this band; having introduced me to a whole new realm of music and fandom. I’m not quite sure where I would be without these – although, this album truly probably wasn’t loved as half of the others on this list… MCR played a gigantic role in my development in life and music. 

5. Frank Turner – Tape Deck Heart

This was the album that got me into my favourite musician; and quite frankly, one of my favourite music genres. It’s interpersonal, and definitely takes fans one step closer to the musician behind the music. 

6. Biffy Clyro – Opposites

This was a true beauty of an album. I definitely think it’s safe to say it contains everything a Biffy fan could want. 

7. The 1975 – The 1975

I cannot even begin to explain the amount of hope this album gave me. I long to go back to 2013; just to fully be able to appreciate this album as something new all over again. I struggle to see anyone ever producing a debut album as strong as this one for a long long time. 

8. Passenger – Whispers II

Oh, sweet heartbreak. This album is everything, and Mike Rosenberg is as soothing and sweet as ever. 

9. Knuckle Puck – Copacetic

Knuckle Puck were introduced to me at Slam Dunk 2015; I had a growing appreciation for them even before this was released. But, to put things into perspective – I now have a tattoo on my right arm that was inspired by this band; their live performance, and this album. 

10. Rihanna – Anti

Rihanna can get you through anything, believe me. She’s magic. This album is near perfect; it provides all the subtle sadness you could wish for. It also has you feeling like a total badass by the end. 

Both Eminem and Ryan Adams also deserve a plug here, but I simply cannot accredit my love for each to a particular album. Their impact has been too big, and perhaps that calls for another story at another time. 

Just in case I’ve inspired you to give it a go, the rules are: Only one (album) per band/artist. Don’t take too long, and don’t think too long. Enjoy your moments of reminisce.

Leave a Reply

