Journalism · Live Reviews · Music

Reading Festival 2016 // Complaints and Recollection


Complaints:

It wasn’t what I expected. Without my friends, whom were once just familiar faces from Twitter, I would not have been content with paying anything over £50 for what I experienced.

Attending the last day of the extended weekend of music is likely my downfall – people had become careless, selfish, – and more than ever – reckless. The image of the girl behind me throughout the majority of night’s acts on the main stage still haunts me; coming down off of a concoction of drugs and God-knows-what, I’m surprised she’s still alive. I know people attend festivals to have a good time; and that the idea of fun is subject. However, it can be argued that you’ve overstepped the line if your happiness is decreasing that of those around you.

Travel was also a pain in the butt, having been fined on the way to the festival; and feeling like I was arriving to death’s door on the way home. The best part was however seeing a multitude of people carrying their tarnished belongings to the nearest train seat.

The thing I enjoy most about gigs – other than the live music – is the diversity of the people you meet who clearly love/appreciate your favourite band or musician. This element is certain lost at festivals. A diverse line-up creates something hectic, and that sense of community is gone – especially when stage splits and times do not work with the notion of genre. As a person who would not have minded seeing three of the acts (Biffy Clyro, The 1975, and Good Charlotte) that helped wave Reading 2016 to a close, I am openly disheartened.

Recollection:

To start the day, I headed to watch State Champs open the main stage. I hope that their presence would fill the Knuckle Puck shaped void in my heart.  Although they put on a good show, I feel that a daytime slot did not do the New Yorkers justice, and it merely stirred up a less than enthusiastic crowd.

With a gap in my day of music, I took the time to meet up with some friends; the memories made with them are something I’ll hold close to my heart, and are one of the main reasons I’m encouraged to give the festival another shot.

The anticipation I had to see Deaf Havana play for the first time in what can only be described as way too long, had led me to feel underwhelmed by their overall set. As others were impressed by the band’s creative approach of revealing the name of their new album – All These Countless Nights – I simply wished I could go back to the days where I knew the words to every song. Then, I’d be wrapped up in the moment and not disturbed by the lack of connection caused by festival crowds.

The sliver-lining of the festival for me was Half Moon Run. This band blew me away – not only because the result of a Twitter poll led me to watching their set. They’re enchanting; and seeing them play allowed me to let loose, and fully appreciate life for a moment (this is something I believe music should ways do!) After this band left the stage, I was ready for Biff. The only issues was that a five hour wait stood between me and my favourite Scottish trio.

 

Conclusion:

I should have just waited out for Biffy to announce their Winter tour; friends are important, and Half Moon Run are the shit. Nevertheless,  I am excited to see how Leeds Festival differs… (u wot, u wot).

Leave a Reply

